AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

BREATHE A Letter To My Sons

by | Read by Imani Perry

Biography & Memoir • 4.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2019

This short epistolary work from the author of the award-winning biography LOOKING FOR LORRAINE, among other works, is in the vein of Ta-Nehisi Coates's BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME and James Baldwin's THE FIRE NEXT TIME, but this audiobook stands alone. Perry brings her singular voice to her restrained yet captivating narration. Though the audiobook could have benefitted from a higher production quality--Perry's voice sounds slightly distant, and a page can be heard turning a time or two--this is an audiobook worth listening to. Employing her unique blend of academia, lyricism, sharp intelligence, wit, and a lot of love, this letter from Perry to her sons shines when read aloud by the author herself. The realities of oppression in America, economic and social, are the context we all live in, and Perry dives into this deeply and skillfully, while also bringing a great deal of joy and hope to the page. S.N. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine [Published: DECEMBER 2019]

Trade Ed. • Beacon Press • 2019

DD ISBN 9781974984213 $24.99

Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.

envelope

AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.

×

Thank you for signing up.

×

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×