AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Liz Phair

Biography & Memoir • 9.25 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2019

A born storyteller, singer-songwriter Liz Phair exchanges guitar strumming for typing with this memoir--which she also narrates. It's a collection of stories told in no particular order, highlighting the impact of small moments. Phair describes the wound it is to be human, to have memories and, consequently, regret, guilt, and love. The stories are mostly relatable, but the vivid imagery she uses is what will pierce listeners to their core. Phair lets her impeccable writing shine in a steady voice that is almost flat at times. Her tone suggests that the passage of time allows her to share vulnerable moments. For a childhood story, Phair instills emotion into her delivery with a shriek and terrified cry for help. Interludes of Phair's music between chapters round out this dynamic listening experience. A.L.C. © AudioFile 2020, Portland, Maine [Published: JANUARY 2020]

Trade Ed. • Random House Audio • 2019

DD ISBN 9780593147382 $20.00


Library Ed. • Books on Tape • 2019

DD ISBN 9780593147399 $76.00

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×